JUST EAT LOCAL

BECAUSE IT’S IMPORTANT & BECAUSE THE RIVERSIDE FARMERS’ MARKET TOLD YOU TO

Where Would We Be Without Janice?

I came to work at the Riverside Public Library in July 1994 and never left!  Starting out as the Youth Services Manager, I loved interacting with the children and cannot believe that most of those are now college graduates and some are even married!  In 1999 I became Director and have loved every minute of being able to serve the people of Riverside in this capacity.   While I was born and raised and continue to live in Chicago, I consider Riverside my second home!

WHY DID I BECOME INVOLVED?  When the Farmers’ Market moved their location next to the Library, we realized that the Library was busier on Wednesdays and we were seeing new patrons we had not seen before.   This gave us a wonderful opportunity to meet and greet and let people know about the programs and activities of the Library and the Friends of the Library.   When the 2012 Committee was starting to plan, I volunteered to become involved on the Farmers’ Market end in addition to the Library’s participation.  The committee is  excited about the programming we have put in place for Market-goers and I am equally excited that the entire staff of the Library will take turns at a booth at the Farmers’ Market each week where we will be highlighting our Library’s activities including Summer Reading and our We R Riverside Program.  I hope  the Farmers’ Market and Library partnership will continue for a long time as we work together to help Riverside shine!

WHAT DO I WISH MORE PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT THE MARKET:  In addition to having access to great fruits, veggies, baked goods and candy, the Market is a wonderful place to gather with friends or meet new friends.     The atmosphere each Wednesday is festive and fun and everyone likes seeing what is at the Market.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FARMERS’ MARKET OFFERING ETC?  I haven’t decided yet.  I plan on delving deeper into all the offerings this year.  Ask me later!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2012 by in Janice.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,834 other followers

Archives

