JUST EAT LOCAL

BECAUSE IT’S IMPORTANT & BECAUSE THE RIVERSIDE FARMERS’ MARKET TOLD YOU TO

Junior Reporter: Owen visits Countryside Produce

I’m Owen and I’m 8 years old.  This past Saturday we went to Farmer Devon’s farm in LaGrange, IN.  He is Amish.  Once I saw Farmer Devon’s farm, I knew it would be very fun.  It was really fun.  They had a lot of activities for the kids and grown-ups to do.  My favorite thing was the horse and buggy ride because I don’t know anyone else who has done that.  I also liked the candy hunt.  They hid candy under hay and we had to dig through the hay to find the candy.

 

 

I asked Farmer Devon some questions.  Here they are:

Q:  How many years have you been a farmer?
A:  Five years.

Q:  How’s the weather been?  Has there been enough rain?
A:  No.  It’s been very dry lately.

Q:  What’s the biggest plant you ever grew?
A:  Last summer I grew a 6 ft tall tomato plant.

Q:  What’s the easiest thing to grow?
A:  Lettuce and radishes.

Q:  What’s the hardest thing to grow?
A:  Cucumbers.

It’s fun being on a farm because not many kids get a chance to do that.  And, I like seeing where my food comes from.  It would be nice to live on a farm.  Farm life is interesting.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2012 by in Farm Visits, Guest Blogger, Junior Journalist.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,834 other followers

Archives

